Vegan brownies: I should have done this a long time ago!

on

Brownies are my FAVORITE dessert! When made right, they’re chewy, a little gooey and chocolatety – what’s not to love? I’ve been making vegan recipes for nearly a year, but I just baked vegan brownies the other day. “When I tasted them, I thought, “I should have done this a long time ago!”

There are numerous vegan brownie recipes out there – some of which include ingredients such as black beans and avocado. I eat black beans and avocado several times a week, and I want to taste them in their whole state, so I wasn’t ready to try a vegan brownie recipe that included either of them as ingredients. I’m sure brownies that do are tasty and could be another way to sneak veggies into the foods children eat.

The recipe I used can be found at All Recipes. I also found the same recipe on YouTube. I was hesitant to make it, because it’s quite decadent, but I don’t see a problem with making brownies using this recipe occasionally. They were yummy and easy to make!

Coca
My FAVORITE place to shop for food is the Your DeKalb Farmers Market in Avondale Estates, GA. in the Atlanta Metro. When we go there, which isn’t as often as I would like, because we now live an hour away from it, I pick up gems like this container of cocoa. It was full when I purchased it, but I had it for two months before using it. 
Spice rack
This is the main reason I LOVE this farmers market – the inexpensive herbs and spices section. It even has mango powder! I don’t know what to do with mango powder, but I’m getting some the next time I go there! OK – back to the brownies . . .
Dry mix
I started by combining all-purpose flour, cocoa, sugar, baking powder and salt. I tend to use pink Himalayan sea salt.
Combine
Next I added water, vegetable oil and vanilla extract to the dry mixture. I think I’ll substitute the oil with applesauce the next time I bake these to make this a healthier-option brownie.
Before
Then I poured the batter into a 9×13 baking dish. Mine was probably lumpier than it should have been. I forgot to mix the dry ingredients before adding the wet ingredients. My kids and I were having so much fun making this together that I forgot about that step!
Done
Nevertheless, after 30 minutes, we ended up with a batch of chewy, gooey vegan brownies. If I had known that vegan food could be this good, I would have switched to a vegan diet years ago! And yes, we ate them ALL! Go to All Recipes for the recipe. Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

