Vegan Stuffed Cabbage enjoyed 2 ways

In my quest to find more vegan recipes to enjoy, I came across Quinoa and Lentil Stuffed Vegan Cabbage. As you can probably tell from the name of this recipe, there are several key ingredients. That can lead to a labor-intensive recipe, but the cooking time can be shortened by preparing some of those ingredients a day ahead. I will definitely do that the next time I make this.

lentils
Since the lentils had the longest cooking time, I put them on first in some water. The recipe didn’t call for seasoning, but I added some anyway.
cabbage
I put the cabbage on to steam next since it had the second longest cooking time. Alissa at Connoisseurus Veg recommends using a large head of cabbage to garner larger leaves, but you won’t end up using the whole cabbage for this recipe.
quinoa
Next up was to cook the quinoa in vegetable broth. All three key ingredients had different cooking times, but I managed to cook them all in 40 minutes.
sauce
I mixed a can of tomato puree with red wine vinegar and a little sugar. You could also use maple syrup or other sweetener of your choice as Alissa suggested.
mixed
I sautéed a small Vidalia onion, although the recipe calls for a regular one and combined it with the quinoa and lentils. I added red wine vinegar and soy sauce. This step also called for adding paprika, salt and pepper. I don’t know how I forgot about the paprika.
filling
The thought of stuffing cabbage leaves was initially intimidating, but it turned out to be relatively easy!
wrapped
Here they are stuffed and looking cute in the pan to cook for another hour. Stuffing these made me feel like a world-class chef for a moment!
done
Here’s the finish. Nick said they tasted good, and that means a lot considering the fact that if something I cook isn’t great, he’ll keep silent. So the next day, I decided to eat a roll over pasta, since I had all this tomato puree left. The rolls tasted even BETTER the next day, and over pasta, I couldn’t put my fork down. I had to force myself to put it down to drink!

Admittedly, this is a labor-intensive recipe with a prep time of roughly 35 minutes and a cook time of 1 hour and 45 minutes. Again, cooking the quinoa and lentils a day ahead will shorten the prep time. As for now, as tasty as these were, I’m going to put this recipe in my recipes for special occasions collection for days when I have mentally prepared myself to cook a large meal with all the trimmings!

Enjoy!

P.S. Make sure you wrap the cabbages leaves tightly around the stuffing mixture. One of my wraps came undone while in the oven, resulting in the mixture to roaming free.

 

 

Leave a Reply

