Vegan Desserts: Chocolate Banana Bread

I’ve been making banana bread for years. I started baking vegan banana bread less than a year ago. Last night was the first time that I baked chocolate banana bread – vegan or otherwise. It was a hit with my family, and I’m sure it will be with yours! When I finally got it in the oven, I tried to set it and forget it, but Elijah, 8 and Miranda, 7, gave me periodic updates on the timer count down! When I told Elijah to go play and forget about the bread, he said, “I can’t. I can smell it! Yes, the smell of chocolate¬†filled the air! When it was done, Nick gave me the best compliment he ever has about anything I’ve ever cooked. “This is as good as it gets.”

For the most part, I followed the pretty bee’s vegan Chocolate Banana Bread recipe to get that chocolatety yummy goodness. You can get it, too!

 

dry
Combine the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. The recipe called for gluten-free flour and coconut sugar, but I didn’t have either of those. I used all-purpose flour and regular sugar instead.

 

wet
In a separate bowl, combine the mashed bananas, coconut oil, vanilla extract, apple cider vinegar and water. Pour mixure into the dry ingredients and stir until combined. The batter will be lumpy.

 

mixed
The recipe called for lining a loaf pan with parchment paper, but I always bake my breads in square pans for easy cutting. I was out of parchment paper, so I sprayed the pan with nonstick grapeseed oil spray. They came out of the pan just fine.

 

baked
Forty to 45 minutes later, you’ll have this yummy goodness! This isn’t the best photo, but I couldn’t wait any longer to get into these!

And as I typed this post this morning, I decided to have a piece for breakfast! Does the fact that it contains bananas make it more of a breakfast food than a dessert? I don’t know, but I’m happy I ate it!

For the complete recipe, head over to the pretty bee’s Chocolate Banana Bread page. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Melissa says:

      Indeed! It didn’t last in our house very long!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

