Breaking Breakfast: Sweet potato apple hash browns

on

I recently heard a nutritionist say, “We eat dessert for breakfast.” It made me think about all those muffins, cinnamon rolls, breakfast cookies and breakfast brownies. Of course, that’s not all we eat for breakfast, but I had to admit she had a point. Growing up, we generally ate cereal, oatmeal, cream of wheat or grits and eggs for breakfast with sausage, so that’s essentially what I cooked for my family.

So I began to ask myself, “What else can we eat for breakfast?” Fruit, what about fruit? In my zeal to find different, exciting and delicious meals for my family once they unanimously decided to become vegans, I headed to Pinterest, where there was no shortage of scrumptious-looking recipes! That’s when I found a recipe for caramelized sweet potato apple hash browns.

I was in a hurry this morning and didn’t cook them exactly the way that Michele at the blog Paleo Running Momma did. I will next time, because she uses a particular method that she stated results in potatoes that are tender on the inside yet crispy on the outside.

Nevertheless, Nick was pleasantly surprised when I handed him the plate as he got ready for work. He tasted it and said, “This is good!” Y’all, if it wasn’t good, he wouldn’t have said it was. He put the plate down, continued to get ready but kept coming back to the plate until he had finished it all!

cooked
Here it is! I decided to add raisins to the recipe. Nick ate those to. Go to Paleo Running Momma for the recipe. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

