Smashed avocado and white beans: YUMMY goodness is nestled between these two slices!

on

A few days ago, Nick announced, “I’m a vegan now.” Elijah, 8, and Miranda, 7, made the same decision, and I immediately took to Pinterest to expand my vegan recipe repertoire. Caution: You might not want to scour Pinterest for recipes when you’re hungry. Anyway, I found oodles and oodles of recipes, including one I ended up making at the last minute.

Monday is sometimes Nick’s day off, but this morning he announced he was going in. He used to eat out for lunch EVERY day, but because of the cost and it not being so great for his health, I began to make his lunches. With his announcement that he was going to work, I sprang into action, because I remembered I found a recipe on Pinterest that claimed it could be made in 5 minutes – Smashed White Bean, Basil and Avocado Sandwich. Little did Nick know, but he was about to get his first vegan lunch!

Avocado is my FAVORITE food, so I’m very picky about how I use it. But the combination of the avocado and white beans . . . y’all, I wish someone “had” told me a long time ago!

Start
Empty a can of drained and rinsed white beans into a bowl along with one whole avocado.
Mash
Add your favorite seasonings and mash. I used onion powder, basil and bouillon. I also added one squeeze of a lemon. Season yours to taste.
Spread
Spread some of the mixture onto your favorite bread. I wish I had better bread for this sandwich, alas!
Dressed
Next, dress your salad. If I wasn’t in such a rush, I probably would have added cucumber.
Done
Finish your sandwich with another slice of bread or enjoy it as an open-face sandwich.

This recipe yields up to 4 yummy sandwiches. There are numerous versions of this recipe on Pinterest. The one that inspired me was from the Pumpkin and Peanut Butter blog with Smashed White Bean, Basil and Avocado Sandwich. I used different seasonings and I didn’t use Dijon mustard as an ingredient as they did. It took me slightly longer than 5 minutes to make this sandwich, but it was still the quickest lunch I’ve ever made beyond PB&J. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

