Vegan Ratatouille Spaghetti: Our family’s first vegan meal

on

I’m SUPER excited, because tonight I cooked my first vegan meal for my family! I started the vegan journey nearly a year ago, but Nick, Elijah, 8, and Miranda, 7, continued to eat meat. So all this time, I’ve cooked two dinners – one for them and another for me. I generally, don’t cook on Saturday, so on Friday’s, I’d cooked a total of 4 meals – two for Friday and two for Saturday – not to mention preparing different lunches every day as well. Not anymore – they’ve all decided to become vegans. Doing so isn’t a stretch for Miranda, because she’s never been a big fan of meat. She’ll choose salmon over chicken and a black bean burger over salmon.

When they announced that they were becoming vegans, I headed to Pinterest and found ooddles and ooddles of scrumptious-looking everything, including vegan brownies and ice cream! The first vegan meal that I cooked for us was a version of Wallflower Girl’s One-Pot Ratatouille Spaghetti. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE one-pot meals and pasta meals where the pasta cooks in with the other ingredients! I made several substitutions to her recipe based on the ingredients I had available. Here’s my version:

veggies
I chopped portabella mushrooms, Vidalia onions, zucchini and eggplant.
veggie pot
I began sauteeing the veggies in canola oil. When that cooked off, I added a thin layer of vegetable broth and sautéed them in that.
tomatoes
I added basil, onion powder and sugar along with a can of diced tomatoes.
broth
Next I added 2 cups of vegetable broth.
spaghetti
Next up was the addition of spaghetti. Vegan versions are out there.

 

done
This is YUMMY! My family ate it up!

 

Vegan Ratatouille Spaghetti

Ingredients

1/2 cup mushrooms (I used portabella).
1/4 sweet onion chopped
1/2 zucchini chopped
1/4 eggplant chopped
1 14.5 ounce can diced tomatoes
2 cups vegetable broth
1 tablespoon oil of your choice
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 1/2 teaspoon basil
2 teaspoons sugar (optional)
1 teaspoon sea salt (optional)

Instructions

Saute the vegetables oil until lightly browned. Add seasonings or seasonings of your choice. Add tomatoes, vegetable broth and sugar. Stir in spaghetti. Cook until spaghetti is al dente. Total cook time is roughly 25 minutes.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

