It’s bananas – fried green bananas that is

About 9 months ago, I discovered green bananas. Actually, I had seen them in grocery stores forever, but found them to be a curiosity as I pushed my cart past them for years. About 9 months ago, I became a vegan and somehow stumbled on YouTube videos featuring a man or woman, usually Jamaican, cooking green bananas and claiming they did so, because the bananas taste like potatoes. Nevertheless, I tried them by boiling them and have been hooked ever since!

 

Green bananas
Buy them greener than these. When they yellow, they get sweet and don’t taste like potatoes when you cook them.

Realizing how much I enjoy them, I finally decided to find other ways to cook green bananas. That meant it was time for more YouTube videos, some of which featured people frying them and calling them French fries. For as long as I can remember, I’ve LOVED French fries! The idea of eating a food that is actually healthy that taste like French fries was irresistible!

 

Peel
So I peeled one,

 

Raw
chopped it, added seasoning and fried it for 2-3 minutes on medium on each side in a half-inch of oil.

 

Cooked
and ended up with this YUMMY goodness!

These are SO good, that Miranda, 7, declared that we are no longer going to buy fries – that we will make these instead.

 

Dinner
I agreed, cooked another batch for dinner and ate it with okra and tomatoes, zucchini, summer squash, Vidalia, onions, portabella mushrooms, and a beat up but YUMMY black bean burger!

I’m SO glad I did!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

