Vidalia onions

on

I’ve never liked onions. I mean, I haven’t been able eat them cooked or raw – that is until I finally tried Vidalia onions – sweet onions that is. Vidalia is a town in Southeast Georgia that produces sweet Vidalia onions. When I was 15, my family moved to Savannah, which is approximately an hour and half away from Vidalia. For years, the sweet Vidalia onion commercial showing people biting into raw onions aired on local stations, but didn’t convince me to try them. Neither did my friend, Lyn, who is from Vidalia. Approximately 10 years after she tried to tell me, I finally tried them when someone gave my mom two bags of them, and she gave me one. I’ve been eating them practically every day ever since – sometimes up to three times a day!

Typically, I can find them at area supermarkets for $3.99 a bag and a little cheaper at the farmers’ market. So when my mom texted me that they were $2.50 at Kroger recently, I was right there, snapping pictures and uploading them everywhere to let everyone know!

Sweet Onions

Two bags came home with me, so I plan to share several recipes with you! In the meantime, I’m enjoying my onions!

They’re in my breakfast quinoa when I decide to eat it savory, atop avocado sauce over pasta and ALWAYS on my avocado toast! They’re in my collard greens, black-eye peas, okra and tomatoes and sautéed kale. I enjoy sweet onions SO much, that I’ll saute them alone and eat them as a 3 p.m. snack! As you can see, sweet onions are an essential part of my diet – so much so that when I was in one particular grocery store checking out, and the manager asked if I found everything O.K., I responded, “No. You don’t have sweet onions, and now I have to go to Publix to get them.” She called the produce manager, but I told her, I had already asked him about the onions. So in a rare early morning thunderstorm, I left that store and drove an additional 5 miles to get those onions! That gave me a 16-mile round trip, because I live in the country.

As you know, onions are typically used as an ingredient, albeit an essential one, in other dishes but sometimes stand alone as onion rings or as a whole main dish onions as with the recipe I’m sharing here.

IMG_4792

I found recipes for whole baked onions on Pinterest featuring onions stuffed with sausage and the such. I decided to core mine almost to the bottom and fill it with cooked quinoa seasoned with pink Himalayan sea salt and basil. I placed it in a baking dish and baked it at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. I plan to make this again, but this time I’ll bake it for at least 40 minutes, because I like my onions to be tender.

Enjoy!

P.S. It seems onions can provide several health benefits, including preventing diabetes, promoting healthy skin, relieving stress and improving immunity. More benefits are listed at HealthFitnessRevolution.

 

Leave a Reply

