Lovely Lunch, Lovely Day: Smart Pocket makes for a yummy, low-calorie meal

The moment I saw these Toufayan Smart Pockets, I thought, “Oh, the things that we can do!” At 80 calories or 2 Weight Watchers Smart Points, the possibilities for these pockets abound! My second thought was to fill these pockets with vegan meatballs. (As soon as I find or create a recipe I like for them, I will). My first thought was to stuff a pocket with my salad favorites. That’s what I did, and that’s what I’m sharing here. I’m calling this extremely simple recipe a Salad Pocket.

 

Toufayan
I saw these in Kroger and knew I could stuff them with all kinds of stuff!

 

Sautee
To make the Salad Pocket, I started by sautéing my dynamic duo – sweet onions and mushrooms in a tablespoon of organic coconut oil. I’ve bought nonorganic coconut oil before and the organic version I have actually smells like coconut before cooking. I think that’s a good sign! I sprinkled the veggies with my triple threat – 3 pinches each of pink Himalayan sea salt, basil and savory.

 

Sliced veggies
While they were sautéing, I sliced my favorite salad ingredients – tomatoes, cucumbers and green leaf lettuce. I sprinkled them with pink Himalayan sea salt and basil – my favorite season/herb dynamic duo.

While all this was going on, organic kale was transforming into kale chips in my oven. Organic makes all the difference that you can really taste! I think I’m going to try growing some indoors. I’ll let you know how that goes.

 

Smart Pocket
I ended up with this lovely lunch after stuffing my Smart Pocket. You can add your favorite dressing to your Smart Pocket if you like. I sliced too many veggies, so I just added them as a side along with my kale chips.

This was truly an easy, YUMMY lunch! I might also fill one with marinated mushrooms and sweet onions. That way the marinade will serve as my dressing. I’m smiling just thinking about it!

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

