Hummus Happiness: Cook Out inspires hummus-eating frenzy

This week my family and I are visiting my mom in Savannah, GA and other relatives on Hilton Head Island, S.C. Even though I planned to stick to working out 4 days this week, I was concerned about my mother’s marvelous cooking. When I arrived at her house, I realized that there was no need to worry, because her kitchen was stocked with coconut oil, reduced-calorie breads, fresh fruits and vegetables and tahini! I’m in a safe zone! She joined Weight Watchers a month ago and has lost 10 pounds! I’ve lost 40 since June on the program, and we’ve been planning meals since the start of my visit.

But when we went to Hilton Head and needed to eat out for lunch, we both face the dilemma of what to eat. She’s a vegetarian and I’m vegan, of course. When she drove into the parking lot of a Cook Out restaurant, I couldn’t figure out what I would be able to eat at an establishment named after America’s meat-eating pastime. I lamented aloud, “If I could simply have a sandwich without the meat.” “You can order a BLT without the bacon and maybe get a small order of fries to go with it.”

Problem solved, and on top of that my meal was not only tasty but also reasonably priced! That leads me to the hummus. I enjoyed the sandwich so much, that I decided that I wanted to prepare it at her house the next day for lunch.

Sandwich open
ALT: Avocado, Lettuce and Tomato Sandwich with homemade hummus

Because she had told me days before that she could make hummus, I decided I would use it as a sandwich spread instead of a condiment such as mayonnaise. I haven’t tried recipes on the back of veggie cans, but that’s where my mom got the recipe for her hummus – from the back of a Kroger garbanzo bean can to be exact. Here’s the recipe as it’s listed on the label:

Can
My mom followed the recipe on the back of this can to make YUMMY hummus! Those are pictures of my youngsters on mugs that I gave my mom years ago.

Hummus
Ingredients

1 can (15.5 oz.) garbanzo beans
3 tablespoons tahini
1 teaspoon chopped garlic
Juice of 1 lemon
Salt to taste

Instructions

  1. Drain garbanzo beans and save the juice (aquafaba).
  2. Combine garbanzo beans, tahini, garlic and lemon juice in a food processor.
  3. While blending, add aquafaba to reach the desired consistency.
  4. Add salt to taste.

When my mom finished blending the ingredients, she felt it needed something more. I suggested she add some basil, which is my second-favorite seasoning/herb after pink Himalayan sea salt. She tasted it and couldn’t seem to stop eating it. I tasted it and realized that what she made was my favorite store-bought hummus – Private Selection Traditional Hummus. I was thrilled! I was so thrilled that when she asked me to make homemade tortilla chips to dip into the hummus, I was happy to oblige. I’m also glad to share that well-known recipe with you!

Baked Tortilla Chips

Ingredients

2 small corn tortilla shells
cooking spray
Sea salt or seasoning of your choice

Instructions

  1. Stack the shells.
  2. Using a pizza cutter or knife, slice the shells. You should end up with approximately 16 chips.
  3. Lay each chip on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.
  4. Lightly spray each chip with cooking spray.
  5. Sprinkle each with salt.
  6. Flip each chip and sprinkle with salt.
  7. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.
Chips
Homemade Baked Tortilla Chips and homemade hummus makes for a light but yummy snack!

Enjoy!

P.S. Boar’s Head Traditional Hummus also tasted just like the one my mom made by following the recipe on the back of the garbanzo bean can. The major difference I noticed with her version and the two store-bought traditional hummus versions I’ve tried, is that the can recipe calls for using the garbanzo bean liquid (aquafaba) instead of olive oil.

Leave a Reply

