Power Bowl: Vegan Taco Bowl

on

I love EVERYTHING taco! I love taco salad, and I love taco soup! I’ve expanded my taco repertoire with a Vegan Taco Power Bowl! Power bowls are a “thing” right now, and I’ve been trying to come up with one that I thought would be truly YUMMY! Most of the power bowl recipes I’ve come across feature the bowl ingredients completely separate. That’s fine, and I’m sure they all taste great. In an about-face, I combine several of my ingredients, because I wanted the entire bowl to taste like a taco!

On Friday nights, I cook tacos, Spanish rice and taco soup. The tacos and Spanish rice are for Friday night. The taco soup is for Saturday’s dinner. Inevitably, I always have taco shells, Spanish rice and taco soup leftover. I’ve combined all those dishes to create my Vegan Taco bowl! I HATE to throw away food, so that makes me SO happy!

rice
I started with placing Knorr’s Spanish rice along the perimeter of the bowl. I love simple recipes, and I found one for Best Spanish Rice that I can easily convert to vegan.
veggies
Next, I scooped some veggies from the Vegan Taco Soup. I added a can of drained garbanzo beans to the soup for the first time. Miranda, 7, said she loves them in there, so they’re a keeper!
shell
Then I added 1 taco shell and some green leaf lettuce. You could also use tortilla chips.
sauced
The finishing touch was adding some taco sauce, because I really wanted this power bowl to taste like a taco! It did, and my husband, Nick, devoured it!

Enjoy!

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Queen Nique says:

    Awesome, looks great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Melissa says:

      My husband devoured it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Queen Nique says:

        lol I bet he did…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

