Burger Boom! Vegan Black Bean Burgers

On this blog, I take my favorite traditional recipes and make them vegan. I follow an 80 percent alkaline food, 20 percent acidic food diet, so every now and then, I have a black bean burger! Before becoming a vegan last year, I closely followed the black bean burger recipe by Ree Drummond aka The Pioneer Woman. Here’s my vegan version of it:

black-bean-burgers-start
It didn’t occur to me to post about this recipe until I got the burgers in the pan coated in grapeseed oil hence the lack of photos!

What happened before that was I took 1 can of seasoned black beans, drained them and mashed them, leaving some bean bits as The Pioneer Woman recommended. I added pinches of my two favorite seasonings, pink Himalayan Sea Salt and basil along with 3 tablespoons of aquafaba to replace the egg. After mixing those ingredients, I added bread crumbs, mixed again and formed the mixture into patties.

black-bean-burgers-turned
Yours should look something like this after cooking them for approximately 3 minutes on each side.
black-bean-burger-done
Here’s a burger fully assembled!

My sandwich spread of choice lately is traditional hummus, but of course, you should use your favorite. Miranda, our 7-year-old, who was seemingly born a vegetarian, LOVES these burgers! She ended up eating 2 of them! After taking her first bite, all she could say was “mmmm!” twice. That convinced me to stop cooking dinner and take a bite of this apparent yummy goodness she was experiencing. Yep, it was good, but I had to continue cooking, so I walked back to the stove, but immediately spun on my heels to take another bite of the burger! Nick and Elijah also needed to eat, although both were involved in other pursuits, nevertheless, I walked back to the stove only to once again head back to the table for my burger at which point I decided that I should just sit down and eat it!

Vegan Black Bean Burger

Yields 4 servings

1 14.5 oz. can seasoned black beans (drained but not rinsed)
3 tablespoons aquafaba (the liquid from cooked dry garbanzo beans or canned).
3/4 cup bread crumbs
Grated onions (optional)
Salt
Basil
Oil for frying (I use grapeseed oil).
4 burger buns
salad greens
Sliced tomatoes (optional)
1/2 avocado (optional)
hummus

Instructions

  1. Drain the black beans, but don’t rinse them.
  2. Mash the beans and add the salt, basil and aquafaba. Mix.
  3. Add bread crumbs and mix again.
  4. Form into patties, and fry in oil for approximately 3 minutes on each side.
  5. Assemble your burger.

My dream burger, whether black bean or garbanzo bean, is nestled between two hummus-coated buns and topped with red leaf lettuce, thinly sliced tomato, sautéed sweet onions and Portobello mushrooms and half an avocado! A side of homemade kale chips would complete this recipe for me!

Enjoy!

P.S. Ree gets 4 burgers from using 2 cans of black beans, so you might want to use 2 cans and adjust the amount of the ingredients if you want humongous burgers. If you’re not a fan of bread crumbs, you might want to try replacing them with quinoa hot cereal flakes, although I haven’t used them in this recipe yet.

ancient-harvest

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

