Lovely lunch, lovely day: Taco soup is back!

img_3647
Vegan Taco Soup and side salad topped with grape tomatoes, cucumber along with marinated mushrooms and sweet onions

I’ve been making taco soup for at least 9 years, but when I went vegan a few months ago, I quit eating it. I continued to make it often for my family who still eat some meats. Then suddenly yesterday, I had an “ah-ha” moment – make a vegan version for myself! Y’all, I don’t know why it took me so long to come to that conclusion, but I’m SO glad I did!

I got the original recipe from a Southern Living Christmas Cookbook that I purchased while shopping at Dillard’s in Savannah, GA. where I used to live in 2008. There were copies on the register, and since I LOVE cookbooks, I purchased one and have been cooking taco soup ever since! The original recipe included 1 pound of ground beef, chicken broth and a packet of taco seasoning. Mine doesn’t. Here’s my version of the recipe:

Vegan Taco Soup
Yield: 10 servings

Ingredients

1 32 oz. container vegetable broth
1 15 oz. can pinto beans (drained and rinsed)
1 15 oz. can black beans (drained and rinsed)
1 15.25 oz. can whole kernel corn (drained)
1 14 1/2 oz. can petite diced tomatoes
1 10 oz. can diced tomatoes and green chilies
1 recipe taco seasoning

Instructions

Add broth, tomatoes and taco seasoning to the pot. Stir in pinto beans, black beans and corn. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer, stirring occasionally, 20 minutes. Serve with your desired toppings, such as tortilla chips, vegan cheese and vegan sour cream.

I topped my soup with a taco shell, because I made tacos for my family, and there’s ALWAYS a broken taco shell in the box. The rice is Knorr’s Spanish rice, and it’s a YUMMY addition to this soup!

I nearly freaked out when I got home from the grocery store and realized that I neglected to buy taco seasoning! Note to self: After making a grocery list, read the list as you shop! I contemplated not making the soup. But I since I had “my mouth fixed,” as my late grandmother Daisy would say it, for taco soup, I figured there must be a substitute out there in internet land. Most of us have the ingredients for homemade taco soup already. Making it yourself allows you to control the taste and forgo preservatives.

In case you’re interested in the marinated mushrooms and sweet onions, I follow Gordon Ramsay’s recipe closely, except, I use red wine vinegar instead of white, sweet onions instead of shallots and grapeseed oil instead of olive oil. I also added balsamic vinegar to my recipe. I guess I actually have my own marinated mushrooms recipe now, and I LOVE it. I eat them hot, but they’re even better cold the next day on a salad! Here’s a VERY short video for Gordon’s recipe.

Enjoy!

P.S. Sorry for the lack of photos. I wasn’t planning to post this recipe.

 

Leave a Reply

