Damn Delicious’ Avocado Pasta sauce

Ok, so avocado has been my favorite food for some time now, and I know there are a zillion recipes you can make using them. Dr. Oz has many recipes listed on his site. Maybe I’m on the greedy side, but all I’ve wanted to do with avocados is EAT them. I don’t want to drink them in smoothies. I didn’t want to slurp them on pasta, and I’ll probably NEVER rub them on my face as a beauty treatment. They’re not going in my hair, either, despite how silky they might make it feel! I want to EAT them! I explained that in a recent post, and I wish someone had told me just what I was missing out on by foregoing avocado sauce!

avocado

I told y’all recently that avocados were 4 for .99 at Kroger. I’m not lying – they were. So, 8 came home with me! I didn’t buy more, because as you know, they spoil quickly and no one in my family eats them except me. With a crisper full of avocados, I FINALLY decided to make a sauce with them to eat on my beloved zoodles. I followed a recipe by Damn Delicious closely but not exactly.

avocados
I started out with two avocados.
blended-avocados
I added a few pinches of pink Himalayan salt, some basil and oil. Grapeseed oil is my favorite right now.
avocado-zoodles
And I ended up with this! As I ate these zoodles with this avocado sauce, I couldn’t stop talking to Nick about how YUMMY it was as he ate okra and tomatoes atop rice. That recipe is coming soon. I knew that since the sauce tasted Damn Delicious on zoodles, it had to be scrumptious on pasta!
avocado-pasta
This is what the sauce looks like on pasta!
avocado-sauced-pasta
Then you smother your avocado pasta with sautéed mushrooms and sweet onions. Well, at least I do – because I LOVE sautéed mushrooms and sweet onions!

And I was RIGHT! I couldn’t wait until dinner the next day to try the sauce on pasta, so I had it for lunch. Oh, my goodness! Oh, my goodness! . . . talk about yummy! Did y’all know how delicious avocado sauce is?

You can get the recipe for the Damn Delicious avocado sauce here. I kept thinking about that sauce the rest of the day and decided to make my own version to have on angel hair spaghetti again for dinner! Here it is:

Avocado Sauce
Serves 1

Ingredients

1 avocado halved, peeled and pitted
1 tablespoon dried basil
1 tablespoon oil (I use grapeseed).
1/4 teaspoon sea salt (I use pink Himalayan sea salt).
Juice of a quarter of a lime

Instructions

  1. Blend all ingredients.
  2. Scoop from blender and stir into zoodles or pasta of your choice.

 

avocodo-sign
The avocados are .50 each now at Kroger. No worries – that’s still a steal!

P.S. About avocados spoiling quickly, some recommendations I’ve tried include the following:

  1. Store whole avocados in the fridge.
  2. Store cut avocados in a container with sliced onions in the fridge.
  3. Once you cut them open, coat the inside with cooking spray and store them in a container in the fridge.
  4. Cut them open and freeze them. Several YouTube videos show you how.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

