Marinated Vegetable Breakfast Burrito

 

done
So I knew I wanted something savory for breakfast but also knew I didn’t want something like grits this time. That’s when the idea for this recipe just popped into my head!

 

mushrooms
First, I began by sautéing 2 mushrooms in 2 tablespoons of oil. I prefer to use grapeseed oil. You could use olive oil as well.

 

mushrooms-onions
Then I added about a quarter cup of sweet onions.

 

mushrooms-onions-tomatoes
Next, I threw 2 halved grape tomatoes into the skillet.

 

quinoa
Then I doused the veggies with some red wine vinegar. Back away a little when you add the vinegar, because it will begin burning away immediately and will also BURN your eyes in the process. I mean, your eyes will shut automatically to protect themselves and tears will stream out of them!

 

thats-a-wrap
Throw 3 tablespoons of cooked quinoa in there.

 

avocado-sauce
Spread 1-2 tablespoons of avocado sauce or humus on a small corn tortilla. You can use one made of flour if you prefer.

 

done
And you’ll end up with this yummy – a Marinated Vegetable Breakfast Burrito!

P.S. This serves 1. If you’re not a vinegar fan, just sauté the veggies in your favorite oil instead. In the steps above, you don’t need to cook any of the veggies very long. I cooked each for roughly a minute before adding the next veggie. Since the quinoa was already cooked, I let it simmer with the veggies just long enough to heat it up.

And yes, I will be having this as a lunch or dinner item!

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

