Coconut Apple Oatmeal, because sometimes you feel like a nut!

Anyone who has known me for a substantial amount of time knows that I like good but simple recipes. Seriously, I once made a mini-scrapbook as an ornament about the lovely lady, Leigh Ann, that I co-taught with for 7 years to hang on the school’s paper Christmas tree. I made sure that the recipes I hand-wrote in it contained no more than 5 ingredients each – and she noticed!

I’m reminded of that, because today I made an extremely simple recipe without even trying. Elijah, Miranda and I decided we wanted oatmeal for breakfast. And since I’ve gotten away from buying the instant variety, I decided to cook the oats on the stove. I’ve done that before, so that’s no big deal. The difference this time was that I decided to cook the oats in coconut milk instead of water. I didn’t think much of it, but the smell of that warm coconut milk, y’all, started to do me in!

coconut-milk
Coconut milk is available in most grocery stores, but I buy this brand from Kroger, because it’s organic.

I’d already planned to add apples to our mugs of yummy goodness, but that warm coconut smell wafting from that pot . . . led me to add coconut flakes to my mug! I’ve never been a big fan of coconut, but I’ve been enjoying the taste of it lately and the fact that it has numerous health benefits is an added bonus!

coconut-apple-oatmeal
So this is just quick-cooking oats cooked in coconut milk, pink Himalayan salt and brown sugar. Then I added apples and coconut flakes – YUMMY!

Coconut Apple Oatmeal

Ingredients

1 3/4 cups quick-cooking oats
1 cup coconut milk
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 pinch sea salt

Instructions

Follow oatmeal package instructions. I combined all ingredients and cooked them for roughly 3 minutes, stirring frequently. Then I removed pot from the heat and let it sit for 3 minutes. The package noted it serves 2, but it served my kids and me.

Enjoy!

P.S. I’ve begun consuming coconut oil in smoothies and in baked goods, because of it’s health benefits. This video by the YouTube channel Healthy Life shares some of them. Here are some of the health benefits of eating coconuts.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Queen Nique says:

    This is great, I will have to try…

    Like

Leave a Reply

