Take me away to avocadoville!

Last year, a parent of one of my students surprised me with a complete dinner for my family and me. I wasn’t a vegan yet, so a white bean chicken chill soup was fine with me. She included sour cream, shredded cheese, graham crackers for dessert and AVOCADOS! I guess I should have had an idea that I was headed toward a life of veganism, because when I saw those avocados, I couldn’t see anything else. I became totally unaware of my surroundings, and what anyone was saying around me sounded like Charlie Brown’s teacher! “Wonk, wonk, wonk, wonk, wonk!”

Needless to say, I LOVE avocados! In fact, they’re my favorite food. Well, they didn’t become my favorite until after I finally gave up French fries. Anyway, avocado is one of those foods that I didn’t taste until I was well into adulthood. Why? Growing up on Hilton Head Island with a great-grandmother who grew whatever she could, we primarily ate the produce she grew, including collard greens, green beans, lima beans and watermelon. We also ate from peach, pear, plum, orange, banana and pecan trees and topped all that off with blackberries that grew wild!

About the avocados – did I mention that I love them – so much so that I eat them EVERY day! There are all sorts of avocado recipes, including those for sauces and smoothies. Maybe I’m a little greedy, but I’m not mentally prepared to drink avocados yet. I want to EAT them, and I do, typically on bread as avocado toast. Here’s a couple of ways I make mine:

 

mushrooms
So far, my favorite way to have avocado toast is with Vidalia onions, plum tomatoes and marinated mushrooms! I’ve eaten this for breakfast, lunch and brunch!

 

onions
As you can see, I LOVE Vidalia onions. I eat them EVERY day. They’re my second favorite food – another that I didn’t taste until adulthood. Pink Himalayan sea salt and basil are my seasonings of choice for avocado toast.

 

lunch
Here it is again as a part of lunch with a homemade garbanzo bean veggie burger and kale chips – some of my favorite yummies!

The Huffington Post offers additional ideas for avocado toast. They’re not all vegan.
Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Queen Nique says:

    I have to say I am beginning to love avocados 🥑 since now being on this journey lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Melissa says:

      I made an avocado sauce last night for the first time – it’s was good! I’ll share the link to the recipe a followed somewhat closely soon.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Queen Nique says:

        Oh how awesome can’t wait to see!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Melissa says:

        Thanks for also following Homeschool & Happiness!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

