Blueberry Muffin Smoothie and Black-eye Peas

That was my plan for dinner last night. I’ve never been a big fan of black-eye peas and haven’t made them in a couple of years. Now all of a sudden, I LOVE them. I mean, I’ll cook 1 pound of them, give Nick, Elijah and Miranda one serving each one night and spend the next four days eating the rest myself!

img_3454
Vegan Black-eye Peas – YUMMY!

Last night all I wanted was black-eye peas, so I ate two mugs full. Then I decided I would cap it off with a Blueberry Muffin Smoothie. Then I fell asleep before making the smoothie. Not tonight, though!

img_3602
Blueberry Muffin Smoothie – SO good!

I’m sure everyone has their favorite way of cooking black-eye peas, so I won’t share mine here. I’m sure some of you are curious about the Blueberry Muffin Smoothie, though, so here’s my version of it:

Ingredients

3/4 cup frozen blueberries
1 cup coconut milk
1 teaspoon agave syrup
1/2 banana
1/4 cup oats
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ginger (optional)
2 tablespoons chia seeds (optional)

Instructions

  1. Be kind to your blender and add liquids first.
    Add the other ingredients.
    Pulse and then blend.

Enjoy!

P.S. Here are some health benefits you get fromĀ eating black-eye peas. According to blackdoctor.org, black-eye peas help BURN fat and are a good source of iron and protein. They’re also loaded with vitamin B and potassium. More details are available at blackdoctor.org.

Leave a Reply

