Savory quinoa for breakfast? Yep!

So I awoke recently after succumbing to the whims of a raging sweet tooth to find that just like that, it had turned itself off, and that I had a taste for a savory breakfast. Before I became a vegan that would mean I would eat something like grits and eggs. Because I’m focusing on eating ancient grains such as quinoa, spelt and amaranth, I decided to forego grits this time. As for the eggs . . . well, you know.

Anyway, I remembered that I had what seemed like a ton of cooked quinoa in the fridge and also remembered that I saw a few videos on making sweet quinoa recipes for breakfast. I couldn’t really wrap my head around that, because typically when I eat quinoa for breakfast, it’s quinoa flakes, which I flavor to be sweet or savory. The flakes have a fine texture like cream of wheat. I struggled to imagine having the quinoa that I typically eat for dinner, the round grain that tastes like rice, as a sweet breakfast dish, so I didn’t make it this time. I did, however, make this savory quinoa recipe that just popped into my head. While eating it, I decided I could also have this yummy dish for lunch and dinner, and it’s SO easy to make!

 

img_3582
I started by sauteing Vidalia (sweet onions) in grapeseed oil with a pinch of sea salt. (I used pink Himalayan salt).
img_3583
Then I added a sliced plum tomato and some basil – my second favorite seasoning. (Pink Himalayan sea salt is my favorite)!
img_3584
Finally, I added the cooked quinoa. . .
img_3585
and ended up with this YUMMY, savory breakfast that I also plan to have for lunch and dinner! I’m thinking I’ll add sliced mushrooms the next time I make this!

Vidalia Onion and Tomato Quinoa Bowl

Ingredients

1 cup cooked quinoa
1/4 cup sweet onions (I use Vidalia onions).
1 sliced plum tomato
1 tablespoon grapeseed oil
1/4 teaspoon sea salt (I use pink Himalayan).
1/2 teaspoon basil

Instructions

  1. Spray skillet with nonstick cooking spray. Add grapeseed oil, onions and a pinch of sea salt. Cook until slightly softened.
  2. Add plum tomato and cook for 1 to 2 minutes.
  3. Add quinoa, rest of sea salt and basil and cook for 1 to 2 more minutes.

Enjoy!

P.S. This makes one hearty serving.

Here are seven health benefits of quinoa by Mind Body Green.

  • Quinoa is one of the most protein-rich foods we can eat. …
  • Quinoa contains almost twice as much fiber as most other grains. …
  • Quinoa contains Iron. …
  • Quinoa contains lysine. …
  • Quinoa is rich in magnesium. …
  • Quinoa is high in Riboflavin (B2). …
  • Quinoa has a high content of manganese.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

