The day I talked myself into working out

I set a goal at the beginning of the month to exercise four days week. I’ve got to be honest, I haven’t exercised 4 days a week this month. In fact, I often struggle to workout three days a week. As I was struggling again today, the discussion that ensued in my mind went something like this:

“You need to workout.”

“But I don’t feel like working out.”

“This isn’t about what you feel like doing. Do what you need to do. Besides, you know you always feel great the moment you start working out.”

“I don’t have time. I have other things to do.”

“It’s only for 30 minutes. Get up and workout before you’re REALLY out of time!”

And so I did, and of course I felt great IMMEDIATELY, because my body thanked me for doing what was best for it by releasing the endorphins that gave me a sense of elation. Yours does that for you, too.

gym

Friday night at the gym with my family

In addition to my positive self-talk, I’m motivated to exercise by my husband Nick’s, example. A man who couldn’t gain weight even if he was paid to, the first thing he does EVERY morning is 100 push-ups. On Fridays, I mean EVERY Friday, he goes to the gym or a basketball court WITHOUT fail. That conversation that I had with myself doesn’t take place in his head, because it NEVER occurs to him not to workout. It’s written in black permanent marker on his mental to-do list. It’s a nonnegotiable.

Another reason that I can talk myself into working out when I really don’t want to is that I choose workouts that I enjoy. I began going to a gym this year for the first time ever, but it didn’t take long before I realized that it wasn’t for me. You see, I don’t care for the treadmill, but I love walking in the wee hours of the morning before sunrise. I hate the stationary bike, but I thoroughly enjoy riding the bike Nick bought me even though it’s a strenuous workout for me. I’ve attended jazzercise classes as early as age 12. Now, I enjoy doing Just Dance despite the fact that I’ve never been a great dancer. Do you need a little more convincing that we all need to exercise?

According to the Mayo Clinic exercise provides the following benefits:

  1. Exercise controls weight.
  2. Exercise combats health conditions and diseases.
  3. Exercise improves mood.
  4. Exercise boosts energy.
  5. Exercise promotes better sleep.
  6. Exercise puts the spark back into your sex life.
  7. Exercise can be fun and social.

If you’re one of those people who find it difficult to motivate yourself to workout, finding workouts you enjoy might help. Your body will thank you for it!

P.S. Officials of the Mayo Clinic recommend that you check with your physician before starting an exercise regimen. The Mayo Clinic offers more details about the benefits of exercise.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

