Fridge Favorite: Garbanzo Beans!

Day 26 of the January Photo Challenge is Fridge Favorite. Although garbanzo beans are not my favorite food (avocado is), I consider them to be my fridge favorite because of the myriad of dishes we can make with them! Foodies, like me, are using garbanzo beans, also known as chick peas, in savory and sweet dishes. I use them to make my homemade veggie burgers. I plan to make falafel using them soon, and I’m simply HOOKED on hummus! I don’t eat crackers often, but some hummus on a Ritz is happiness!

img_3526
So I wrote those couple of lines about the hummus on Ritz and stopped writing to get a few! And, yes, I’m happy!

Garbanzo beans can also be ground into flour and used in some of those sweet desserts I can’t wait to make! And if that wasn’t enough, I call the water left over after cooking garbanzo beans liquid gold! Technically, it’s called aquafaba, and there’s a website dedicated to promoting its use. Whether it’s the liquid from dry garbanzo beans or canned, the liquid can be kept and used as an egg substitute in recipes, y’all! I’ve included aquafaba in several recipes, and it works just as eggs do. I wouldn’t suggest that you try to scrabble aquafaba as a side item for breakfast. I just don’t think that would work too well!

For a couple of months, I had a love-hate relationship with garbanzo beans. I didn’t taste them until a couple of months ago, and I couldn’t understand how I could slow cook the beans for 6 hours and they still be crunchy! I didn’t have a food processor at the time, so trying to mash the beans by hand was time-consuming to say the least. With my frustration with the beans at an all-time high, I took about 3 cups of them along with the aquafaba and threw them away! It sounds crazy, right? But at the time, I didn’t know just how versatile garbanzo beans can be or that I was supposed to keep the liquid I had cooked them in!

img_3516
EVERY time I used garbanzo beans, whether from a can or dry, I preserve the aquafaba! It’s such a precious commodity that I also freeze it!

Another reason that garbanzo beans are my fridge favorite is because I can get more than one meal out of a 1 pound bag. I can get around 8 veggie burgers from a bag that only cost $1.89! In other words, garbanzo beans are an economical yummy! I’ve been twiddling with a couple of garbanzo bean veggie burger recipes for some time and finally feel comfortable enough to share this one that I call Marinated Garbanzo Bean and Quinoa Veggie Burgers.

20170116_134111
You’ll need 2 cups of cooked dry garbanzo beans. You can also use 1 15 oz can.
img_3515
Add the red wine vinegar, 1 tablespoon of grapeseed oil and then the Vidalia onions.
img_3520
Add the lime juice and then the quinoa. Mix and place in the fridge for 30 minutes to 24 hours. I once left mine in for 48 hours once, and they made for some YUMMY veggie burgers!
img_3523
When you’re ready to cook them, place them in a food processor with some basil, sea salt, ground small thyme and savory. Add spelt flour and aquafaba. Pulse until combined but still chunky.
20161225_135512
Place in a skillet with grapeseed oil on medium heat, and you’ll get these yummies! I used red quinoa with these. You get the same flavor as with white quinoa, but the red quinoa makes the burgers prettier (as if that really matters)! What does matter is that red quinoa seems to cost a little more than white.
veggie-burger
I just HAD to have one with my FAVORITE food – avocado!!!

Marinated Gabanzo Bean and Quinoa Burgers

Ingredients

Marinade
2 cups cooked garbanzo beans
1/2 cup cooked quinoa
1/4 cup Vidalia onions or other sweet onion
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon grapeseed oil
juice of half a lime

 

Garbanzo bean marinade mixture made from above ingredients
1 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon sea salt (I use pink Himalayan sea salt).
1/2 teaspoon thyme (ground small)
1/4 teaspoon savory
1/2 cup spelt flour
3-4 tablespoons aquafaba
1 tablespoon grapeseed oil

Instructions

  1. Combine the ingredients for the marinade and refrigerate from 30 minutes to 24 hours.
  2. Place the marinade mixture in a food processor.
  3. Add the basil, sea salt, thyme, savory, spelt flour and aquaba to your food processor and pulse until combined but still chunky. Add more aquafaba if necessary.
  4. Form into patties. Some people place the batter on a flat surface and use the mouth of a cup to form them.
  5. Place 1 tablespoon of grapeseed oil in a skillet on medium heat and cook the patties 3-4 minutes on each side.

Enjoy!

P.S. I’ve made this recipe without the quinoa. If you do, use less aquafaba.

If using dry beans, rinse them and follow the package cooking instructions or place them in a slow cooker with water 3 inches above the beans and cook on low for 6-8 hours.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Melissa says:

    Great! Let me know how it goes and whether I need to tweak it. Another garbanzo bean burger recipe popped into my head this morning. I will be sharing it soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

