Photoaday Day 24: I feel . . .

Day 24 of the January Photoaday Challenge simply read, “I feel.” Now I could probably sum up how I feel by stating that I feel “good.” But as it relates to my weight-loss journey, “good,” is a loaded understatement.

I feel “energized!” I went from sitting on the sidelines on my couch as my husband, Nick, took our children to the gym, and to the park, and to the pool, and to play tennis and to ride bikes. I sat on my couch losing out on precious moments and steadily gaining weight. A few months ago, I went to a gym for the first time ever! I take our children to the park and walk around it as they play. I’m learning to play tennis and began riding a bike for the first time since childhood. And this summer, I’m going to put my body in a swimsuit for the first time since I was 12 and finally learn to swim!

kids-beach
Next summer, I’m wearing a swimsuit!

I feel “optimistic!” Because I’ve lost 38 pounds and counting, I feel considerably more optimistic about my future with my family. In other words, because I’m shedding the unnecessary pounds, I’m reducing my risk of heart attack, stroke, diabetes and some cancers that are associated with being overweight. No one knows how much time they have in this life, but since losing weight helps increase our longevity, I will continue to lose weight until I reach my goal. My weight-loss has never been just about me. It has also about my being alive and thriving with Nick and our two young children – to be around to see our two older daughters achieve their goals and dreams.

 

kids-park
Now I take our children to the park and walk while they’re playing.

 

I feel “healthier!” Before losing weight, I was chronically fatigued EVERY day! I’ve taken control of my health and that of my family’s by making better food choices and trying new healthful foods. In fact, my top-10 favorite foods are foods that I didn’t try until adulthood – some of which I had never tasted until a few months ago. In doing so, I found out that I’ve been missing out! I’m SO excited, because there are virtually countless numbers of fruits and veggies for me to enjoy that I have yet to taste!

I feel “empowered!” Although I still have some weight to lose, I feel empowered that despite the times when I over ate, or didn’t workout or actually gained weight, I’d tell myself in Dory’s voice, “Just keep going! Just keep going!” This weight-loss journey has taught me that because I told myself and anyone who would listen that I’m GOING to lose this weight and actually have, that I have the fortitude to attain the other goals I’ve set for myself.

 

me-orange
For years, I refused to be photographed. Now, I take a selfie now and then!

 

So, yes, I feel “good,” – a loaded, unapologetic, supercalifragilisticexpialidocious GOOD!

P.S. I had to look supercalifragilisticexpialidocious up to spell it correctly!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Samad says:

    Salute to you Queen. Continue being the positive example people need.

    Like

Leave a Reply

