The biggest losers keep track of what they eat!

day-20-track

Research has shown that people who keep track of what they eat, lose more weight than those who don’t. That’s probably the biggest reason I’ve been a big loser on Weight Watchers. I don’t have to read a 200-page research paper to believe that keeping some sort of food diary promotes weight-loss success. I’ll use myself as an example. I ALWAYS want a sweet treat shortly after dinner. I might do something like pop a dark chocolate wafer into my mouth. That’s about the time when I’m reaching for another when I think, “Let me check the point value on this.” When I see that each wafer is 3 points, I immediately decide that I only need one! Now I can have more if I want to – it’s just a matter of deciding if I want to use my points that way. When I have these moments, I typically think of Sir Francis Bacon and his famous quote, “Knowledge is power.” Some say that it isn’t – that the power lies in the action taken after acquiring the knowledge. Whichever the case, I know that when I keep track of what I eat, I tend to lose weight. When I don’t, I’m sure to gain!

There are all kinds of ways to track what you eat. I used to track my food intake via a physical journal.

 

moleskin
My oldest daughter, Kayla, surprised me by sending this Moleskine journal to my house. I love how the cover feels, I love the story behind the brand, but I don’t use it to track my food intake. I have my Weight Watchers app for that. In the past, I’ve purchased journals from christianbook.com for as low as $1 each! She purchased the Moleskine from amazon. It’s also available at the Moleskine site

 

 

 

track
I was on Weight Watchers 10 years ago before the use of apps became the norm. Back then, I logged my food intake in a food diary that came with program materials. Along with exercise, I tracked my way to a 52-pound loss! I live in the country now and subscribe to Weight Watchers Online and track via the handy app! The picture shows what I ate for dinner one day – a few of my favorite foods!

 

fitness-pal
There are also a slew of free apps available for tracking your food intake. The picture above is a partial shot of my  myfitnesspal.com newsfeed. Yes, I’ve lost 38 pounds and counting! Even though I track my food via Weight Watchers, I use the myfitnesspal app, because it provides articles on health and fitness along with recipes, your very own blog and allows you to connect with friends much like facebook.

Consider finding the method of tracking that works for you. It gives you access to the knowledge of how much you’re really eating and the power to perhaps make a different choice.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

