When life gives you spotted bananas, make banana bread! (vegan)

 

Bananas that look like this, used to scare me!

spotted-bananas
Now I LOVE it when my bananas look like this. I can use them for something YUMMY!

I can put spotted bananas in my breakfast smoothies, which helps make smoothies sweeter and thicker or I can make one of my all-time favorites, banana bread! When I saw my bananas looking like this recently, I decided to take my trusted Better Homes and Gardens 12th Edition New Cookbook banana bread recipe and make it vegan! Here’s how:

 

dry-mix
After greasing an 8×8 pan, I combined spelt flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a bowl. Adding 1/8 teaspoon of ground nutmeg is optional. Then I made a well in the center. You can use a loaf pan, but I prefer square pans. They allow me to cut the bread into neat squares, making it easier for my husband and children to grab a piece whenever they like.

 

chopped-bananas
After slicing the bananas, I mashed them.

 

wet-ingredients
Next, I added the mashed bananas to the remaining ingredients, which included coconut sugar, coconut oil and aquafaba.

 

aquafaba
You might be asking yourself, “What in the world is aquafaba?” Well, it’s the water that remains after cooking dry beans and other legumes such as garbanzo beans or the liquid in canned beans. This ‘miracle liquid,’ as I call it, can be used as an egg substitute in recipes! I wouldn’t try to scramble it, though!

 

mixed
Here the dry and wet ingredients are combined. As you can see, I didn’t mash the bananas completely. Y0u can if you like. You can also add 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts.

 

sliced
After baking in an oven set at 350 degrees for 55 minutes, I ended up with these yummies! Let me tell you, this is the moistest, most delicious banana bread I’ve ever made! My husband and kids thought so, too!

Vegan Banana Bread

Prep: 25 minutes
Bake: 55 minutes
Oven: 350
Makes: 1 loaf

Ingredients
2 cups spelt flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt (I used pink Himalayan salt)
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
6 tablespoons of aquafaba (garbanzo bean liquid)
1 1/2 cups mashed bananas (3-5 medium)
1 cup coconut sugar
1/2 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Instructions
1. Grease the bottom and 1/2 inch up the sides of an 8x8x2, a 9x5x3 or two loaf pans. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Make a well in the center of the mixture.

2. Combine bananas, sugar, oil and aquafaba. Add to dry mixture and stir just until moistened. Here’s when you add nuts, which are optional. Pour batter into pan.

3. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, cover with aluminum foil, and then bake for 25 additional minutes. Bake for 40 to 45 minutes if using loaf pans. It is recommended that you let the bread cool for 10 minutes in a pan on a wire rack, and then removing the bread from the pan to let it cool on a wire rack. It is also recommended that you wrap the bread and store overnight before slicing. That’s simply not going to happen with my family, so I let it cool for 10 minutes in the pan and then we eat it! It’s moist and yummy, and I doubt that we’ll ever wait until the next day to eat it!

Enjoy!

P.S. For each egg required in a recipe, substitute with 3 tablespoons of aquafaba. Source: bon appetite.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

