Alkaline Vegan Apple Cinnamon Muffins

I’ve been sharing pictures of the alkaline foods I prepare with family and friends and on social media sites on virtually a daily basis since I became an alkaline-food-only vegan a few months ago. In all that time, I didn’t attempt to bake a vegan sweet treat despite the fact that I bake for my family 1-2 times a week (researchers say baking makes us happy) and the fact that I’ve had the ingredients to take a walk on the vegan dessert side for some time now.

finished-muffins
Alkaline Vegan Apple Cinnamon Muffins

Well, all of that ended today! I’ve had a RAGING sweet tooth lately, and although I’ve flung the cabinets open wide hunting for an alkaline treat to sooth it with, I accepted the fact that I would have to bake an alkaline vegan dessert myself and hope for the best. Let me tell you – if I had known an alkaline vegan dessert could be SO delectably YUMMY, I would have been up to my eyeballs in these muffins months ago! When I gave Elijah, 8, and Miranda, 7, a taste of the muffin I was taste testing, they successfully made the case to have their own, which they both seemed to devour in 2 bites each! When I got another muffin to actually eat by myself, I did the same! No kidding!

Here’s the recipe. I’m willing to bet that when you bake these, it will be HARD for you not to devour these yummies in two bites as well! Enjoy!

Preheat oven to 400 (F). Grease or line muffin tray, set aside.

Dry ingredients.JPG
In a large bowl, stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.
wet-ingredients
In another bowl, whisk together applesauce, coconut milk, oil and agave nectar.

 

mixed-ingredients
Add the wet ingredients to the dry. Stir until combined.

 

cupcake-pan
Fill the muffin cups 2/3 of the way full, and sprinkle each with some cinnamon sugar. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes. Let cool in the pan for 20 minutes. Then transfer to a cooling wrack to finish cooling.

Alkaline Vegan Apple Cinnamon Muffins

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 20 minutes
Total Time: 30 minutes
Yield: 1 dozen muffins
Serving Size: one muffin

Ingredients

For the muffins:
1 3/4 cups spelt flour
3/4 cup coconut sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt (I used pink Himalayan salt)
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
8 ounces applesauce
4 ounces coconut milk
4 ounces coconut oil or other alkaline oil of your choice
2 tablespoons agave nectar
For the topping:
2 tablespoons coconut sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 (F). Grease or line muffin tray. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. In another bowl, whisk together applesauce, coconut milk, oil, and agave nectar. Add the wet ingredients to the dry. Stir until combined.
  3. Fill the muffin cups 2/3 of the way full, and sprinkle each with a some cinnamon sugar. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes. Let cool in the pan for 20 minutes. Then transfer to a cooling wrack to finish cooling.

P.S. The powdered sugar isn’t an alkaline food. It just looks pretty! Feel free to omit this ingredient.

Leave a Reply

