Food, family and zoodle love!

I LOVE zucchini right behind avocadoes and Vidalia onions! I’ll share my thoughts on those two yummies in upcoming posts. I was probably 23 before tasting my first zucchini. No, really! Here’s why. I’m from the South Carolina Low Country – Hilton Head Island to be exact.

My great-grandmother grew watermelons, green beans, greens and probably some other foods I don’t remember. I do remember, however, that we had peach, plum, pear and pecan trees. One of my late uncles later planted an orange tree. Blackberries grew wild, so my cousin, Ros, and I would pick them, smash them in a bowl and enjoy! The first time I tasted zucchini, hesitantly I might add, was at a restaurant during my lunch hour with a co-worker. It took my reaching adulthood to sample it for the first time, because although there were probably 2 or 3 grocery stores on Hilton Head at the time – this was in the 1970s y’all – my family basically ate what was grown from the land. We were eating organically before we knew what organic was!

garden-pic
My mom, cousins and me in my grandmother’s garden. I’m the one with her hand in the air! That’s Sandie in the back next to my mom, Nneka, Dawn and Tollan. Time flies!

After enjoying the zucchini that day, which had simply been sautéed and lightly seasoned, I was hooked! I have been eating zucchini that ONE way for more than 20 years. I’ve been aware for some time now that people have used various vegetables to replace pasta, but since I wasn’t anti pasta, I never tried any of them – until now!

I recently stumbled across YouTube videos on zoodles, and I guess, because I’m vegan now, I was intrigued so much that I recently purchased my first spiralizer. I LOVE it! I’m talking about the Spiralife spiralizer by Lifestyle Dynamics. What I like about this spiralizer is that it’s easy to use and leaves VERY little waste. In fact, it doesn’t leave any waste! The tiny piece of zucchini you’ll have left can be cooked and enjoyed!

spiralizer
This is my first spiralizer, and I LOVE it! With this one, I hold one end with one hand and twist the zucchini on the other end with my other hand – SO easy!

Why eat zoodles? First, they’re pretty. I don’t know why, but when cooking for my family or friends, presentation is important to me. Second, it’s fun to eat! Here’s how I cook mine:

raw-zoodes
After cutting off the ends of the zucchini, place it in your spiralizer and spiralize. You’ll end up with pretty zoodles! Sautee the onions in oil and salt until the onions have softened. Add the zoodles. Cook for 5 minutes. Add the mushrooms all of the seasonings. Total cook time depends on whether you like your zucchini crunchy, limp or somewhere in between.

 

cooked-zoodles
YUMMY!!!

 

Alkaline Zoodles with Vidalia Onions and Mushrooms
2 servings

Ingredients
1 zucchini
1/2 Vidalia onion (or other onion of your choice)
1/3 cup sliced mushrooms (any except shitake to keep this dish alkaline)
2 tablespoons grapeseed oil
1/2 teaspoon sea salt or pink Himalayan salt
1 pinch dried basil
1 pinch dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon savory

Add the grapeseed oil to a pan on medium-high heat along with the onions.

Add salt to help season the pan.

Sautee until onions appear to have softened a little.

Add the spiralized zucchini (zoodles) to the pan.

Sautee for 5 minutes. Then add the mushrooms, basil, thyme and savory.

How much longer you decide to sautee depends on whether you like your zucchini crunchy or limp or somewhere in between. I like mine closer on the limp side, so I sautee for about 3 more minutes.

P.S. I know there are lots of sauces that can be made to top the zoodles, namely avocado sauces. Avocado is my FAVORITE food, and for now, I prefer to eat it as a solid. In case you want to add an avocado sauce to your zoodles, here’s one at Ahead of Thyme.

Enjoy!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Janice Barnwell says:

    Hi Dawn,
    Great article ! I recently made a lifestyle change to becoming a plant based consumer. Your article was confirmation for me. Thank you

    Like

    1. Melissa says:

      Hi Janice! Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed the article, and I’m glad you’re converting to plant-based eating. I love it!
      Melissa

      Like

Leave a Reply

