All we are saying is give quinoa a chance!

Since becoming an alkaline-food-only vegan, the one food that I can say I actually have missed is grits. What can I say? I’m from the South Carolina Lowcountry – Hilton Head Island to be exact. And in the South, we LOVE our grits. In fact, many of us will eat just about anything on it – shrimp, gravy, tomato sauce, eggs or just plain old yummy butter. Yes, despite the fact that I’m vegan now, I can still admit that butter is YUMMY! I’m looking for a replacement for that, too!

ancient-harvest

About the quinoa – the flake variety is my grits replacement. (The regular variety is my rice replacement, but that’s for another post). And just why am I replacing the grits I love SO dearly? As an alkaline-food-only vegan, the only grains I eat are ancient such as spelt, kamut and quinoa to name a few. Wheat isn’t one of them. Anyway, I came across this brand of quinoa breakfast cereal at a farmers’ market that is 45 minutes from where we live, so I grab a couple of boxes whenever we go there. It’s $1.89 a box there. I’ve also seen this brand of quinoa flakes in a local grocery store for $9.99 a box. Go figure! I mean that literally. Why such a HUMONGOUS price difference? Please let me know if you figure this out!

Anyway – back to why I LOVE these quinoa flakes:

  1. Depending on my mood, I can have them sweet or savory. When I have a bit of a sweet tooth, which is more often than I care to admit, I add agave nectar for sweetness along with fresh fruit such as blueberries and raspberries.
  2. The flakes cook up INCREDIBLY fast! They’re DONE in the blink of an eye – well in how many times humans tend to blink in 90 seconds! Those 90 seconds matter on those mornings when you wake up REALLY hungry.
  3. They’re filling. After eating a bowl of these, hours pass before I hear my stomach calling my name.

When I want them savory, here’s what I do:

 

veggies-in-pot
I sautee a quarter cup of Vidalia onions and bella mushrooms in grapeseed oil.

 

veggies-in-cup
When the veggies are limp, I throw them in the bottom of my favorite soup mug that I got from Publix. I have a mug story, but that’s for another post.

 

quinoa-flakes-savory
This is how I usually enjoy hot quinoa cereal. I dropped the quinoa onto the Vidalia onions and mushrooms and stir them to the top like fruit-on-the-bottom yogurt!

Here’s the EASY recipe, so you can enjoy some, too!

Alkaline Onion and Mushroom Hot Quinoa Cereal
Prep time: 2 mintues
Cook time: 5 minutes
Total time: 7 minutes
Yield: 1 Serving

Ingredients

1/4 cup Vidalia onions or onions of your choice
1/4 cup baby bella mushrooms or mushrooms of your choice
1 teaspoon grapeseed oil
1 cup of spring water
1/3 cup of Ancient Harvest Quinoa Hot Cereal
onion powder to taste
sea salt (I used pink Himalayan salt).

Instructions

  1. Sautee the onions and mushrooms in the grapeseed oil. Add a pinch or two of salt and sautee the veggies until they are slightly limp. Then transfer them to your favorite bowl.
  2. Bring the quinoa and water to a boil and add onion powder, stirring constantly. Cook for 90 seconds. Really, that’s all it takes!
  3. Drop the quinoa onto the veggies and stir the veggies to the top. Add butter or your favorite butter substitute. Enjoy!

P.S. Before uploading this post, I got up and made a mug of this! YUMMY!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

