Hail kale! Alkaline Red Kale Chips

I LOVE kale! In fact, it’s my third favorite food right after avocados and Vidalia onions and one that I didn’t taste for the first time until adulthood. When I say favorite, I mean I eat kale EVERY day! I’ve enjoyed it steamed in microwavable bags and sautéed with my favorite seasonings. But my ABSOLUTE favorite way to eat this green super food is to make kale chips out of them! I was a bit skeptical the first time I made them, but I couldn’t believe the change in flavor!  I immediately called my children to taste these AMAZING chips. First, Miranda, 7, who is our resident potato chip monster as she calls herself, gave them a try. “These taste like potato chips!” she exclaimed. “These ARE potato chips!” Elijah, 8, added. They devoured a cookie sheet of them in no time, so I had to immediately made another batch for myself! Making kale chips is incredibly EASY! Here’s how:

drying-kale
After washing the kale leaves, lay them on paper towels and pat them with another paper towel to remove as much water as possible.
flipped-kale
Turn the kale over to make it easier to see where to remove the leaves. The color of this organic red kale is SO pretty. I would love to have a blouse in this color!
cutting-kale
Use a knife or scissors to remove the leaves from the stem.
oiling-kale
Tear the leaves into bite-size pieces (not too small) and place them in a bowl with the oil. Use tongs to help ensure that the leaves are evenly coated with oil. Arrange the leaves onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and sprinkle them lightly with sea salt. Cook for 6 to 8 minutes, checking periodically so the kale doesn’t burn.

Alkaline Organic Red Kale Chips

Prep Time: 7 minutes
Cook Time: 8 minutes
Total Time: 15 minutes

Ingredients
3 leafy stems of kale (I used red organic). You can also use precut kale.
1 tablespoon of olive or grapeseed oil
sea salt (I used pink Himalayan salt).

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. After washing the kale leaves, lay them on paper towels and pat them with another paper towel to remove as much water as possible.
  3. Turn the kale over and use a knife or scissors to remove the leaves from the stem.
  4. Tear the leaves into bite size pieces (not too small) and place them in a bowl with the oil.
  5. Use tongs to help ensure that the leaves are evenly coated with oil.
  6. Arrange the leaves onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and sprinkle them lightly with salt.
  7. Cook for 6 to 8 minutes, checking periodically so the kale doesn’t burn.
  8. Let the leaves cool a bit before tasting. It will be tempting to take a bite, but trust me, I’ve burned myself this way, rendering some of my taste buds useless for the rest of the day!

Enjoy!

P.S. Why should you consider eating kale?

  1. Researchers recently reported that kale, an alkaline vegetable, is very high in antioxidants. The researchers showed that kale slows the growth of cancer.
  2. They also concluded that kale protects against prostate and colon cancers.
  3. Eating kale is also known to protect your eyes from macular degeneration.
  4. According to the study, kale has been labeled as the “go-to” food for iron and calcium.
  5. The leafy greens’ anti-inflammatory capabilities help to fight against arthritis, heart disease and several autoimmune diseases.
  6. Kale also has compounds that help protect against heart disease and stroke.
  7. Among all the foods in the research study, kale was shown to have the highest protection against bladder cancer.
  8. Kale also has a high number of flavonoids, which can help keep cholesterol levels normal and rid the body of harmful free radicals.

Source for kale benefits: Alkaline Valley Foods

 

Leave a Reply

